Under section 37 of Biological Diversity Act, 2002, there is provision for the State Government in consultation with LSGs through State Biodiversity Boards, to identify areas rich in biodiversity, cultural importance etc. and to declare them as Biodiversity Heritage Sites (BHS).

Considering the above, the Kerala State Biodiversity Board has identified 5 different ecologically significant sites in the State to be declared as BHS. Pathiramanal Island (Alappuzha district) Iringole Kavu in Perumbavoor (Ernakulam), Kalasamala at Kunnamkulam (Trissur), Connolly’s Teak Plantation at Nilambur (Malappuram), Paliyeri Mookambika Kavu (Kannur).

The preliminary information on these sites were collected with the help of experts in the field. The follow-up actions based on the recent guidelines from NBA is progressing.